Unity Candle Design

25 Sep

I saw the neatest tapper candles in the studio of one of the photographers we looked at and I can’t get it out of my head.  She got it in a little shop up north in Wisconsin, I won’t be going up there anytime soon.  I tried looking online for it but can’t find anything close to what it looked like.

So, I’m going to try to make it!  The candle was a light green with a darker green Moroccan pattern over the top, it was a separate layer of wax, the design was cut out of the top layer.

This is what the pattern sort of looked like

Moroccan Pattern

After doing a little research and planning I figured out how I could do it.  You can buy thin, flat sheets of wax at craft or hobby stores that would be easy to cut, they sell tapper candles too.  To cut out the design I want to use a clay cutter or small cookie cutter, but I couldn’t find that shape anywhere so I looked up how to make cookie cutters.  There are a few different ways to make cookie cutters, I think using metal ribbon, also found at the hobby store, would work the best.  This way I can play with the size of the pattern to see what would look the best.

Now I just need to go back to the hobby store and see if I can get everything I need.  I’ll post a few photos of the process once I get started, I hope it works!

2 Responses to “Unity Candle Design”

  1. busyinwi October 10, 2010 at 12:14 PM #

    Do you remember the name of the place? How far north is it?

    • moderndaysoiree October 10, 2010 at 7:08 PM #

      I can’t remember! Maybe Mom or Gabby do? I think it’s way up north, like a few hours. Can’t remember the name of the town either. We’ll figure something else out, it doesn’t have to be the wax idea either. Maybe I can find some nice ribbon or scrapbook paper.

Leave a Reply

